California Governor Gavin Newsom Mandates Face Coverings In Public Spaces
NEW: Californians are now REQUIRED to wear face coverings in public spaces.— Gavin Newsom (@GavinNewsom) June 18, 2020
Together -- we can slow the spread.
Do your part. Wear a mask.
LEARN MORE: https://t.co/xtXFwVeWc2
The page Newsome tweeted is here https://covid19.ca.gov/.
Face coverings required in public spaces
Cloth face coverings or masks help reduce the spread of coronavirus especially when combined with physical distancing and frequent hand washing. Starting June 18, Californians must wear face coverings in common and public indoor spaces and outdoors when distancing is not possible. Learn more about the guidance and limited exceptions here."
One interesting thing that I immediately noticed is that Newsom's PDF entitled "GUIDANCE FOR THE USE OF FACE COVERINGS" dated June 18, 2020 does not include the word 'law', 'statute,' 'code,' etc. It is not an executive order or a bill signed into law. It lists some medical exceptions, etc. but does not list any penalty or punishment for violators.
Compare this to the facemask orders issued in Maryland, which threatens a $5000 fine, one year in jail and a misdemeanor criminal conviction, or in Virginia or New Mexico, which list similar type sanctions.
Even the local county face mask orders which had been issued in San Bernardino and Riverside Counties (which were both rescinded last month) had listed a fine of $1000 and 3 months in jail for violators.
Yet the California 'guidance' lists no such penalties. Why? If there are no penalties and no statue or code numbers, then this is not a law. If you have found such info please post in the comments below. As of 5:30pm Pacific time, no such info is posted on the governor's website.